Tragic Sandwich

Food. Family. Fun.

Melancholy

Recently I bought the Kindle edition all of Thomas Hardy‘s novels for something like 89 cents. Now that’s a literary bargain.

The only problem? Thomas Hardy is insanely depressing. I am further convinced that Tess of the d’Urbervilles is a brilliant novel, but, wow. And if you really want to be hit over the head with a series of sad relationships, follow Tess up with the short-story collection Life’s Little Ironies. After that, there was no way I could tackle Jude the Obscure.

At the moment I’m reading Desperate Remedies, and although I want to know how it turns out, I’m also ready for it to be over. Plus, I do not know how to pronounce the name “Cytherea.”

I guess all of that’s balanced out, though, by the fact that Hardy gave us the cliffhanger–both the concept and the word. And where would series television be without that?

Single Post Navigation

Talk to me!

